It’s Mother’s Day!

It’s surprising how quickly Mother’s Day’s arrived again this year – mind you, where does the time go?  We usually celebrate Mother’s Day on the last Sunday in March here in the UK.  Here are some photographs of a different kind of card I made for my Mummy this year – a box of flowers!

ImageImageImage

ImageImage

ImageImageImage

The final photograph above was taken outside… it’s amazing how different the colours look!

To achieve the above, I actually cheated a little.  I bought a digital kit from Crafts U Print  and printed it out onto 300gsm glossy card.  I decided the flowers that came with this didn’t really look fragile enough when cut out from this weight card, so decided to use vellum.  I then went through my digital stash of papers and chose various complimentary coloured papers – some floral, some blended papers and printed these onto A4 vellum.  I then had a look through my Pazzles Inspiration cutting files and found some “spiral” flowers i.e., a spiral is cut into a circle and after cutting it out, you roll it and this makes the rose-looking flowers.  I then cut out lots of these, rolled them, glued them with a hot glue gun and then chose the ones I wanted to use.  If you’d like to have a go at making these types of flowers but don’t have an electronic die cutting machine, take a look at this tutorial http://snapcreativity.com/easy-diy-paper-flowers/

The “flat”-looking  flowers aren’t acutally flat, they’re layered vellum.  I also added little gems to make it sparkle.

It is a lovely alternative to the “normal” type of card, although very labour intensive.  Just shows the amount of love I put into it for my very special Mummy!  🙂

2 thoughts on “It’s Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

