An Abundance of Birthdays!

Around this time of year, our families have an abundance of birthdays and anniversaries.  I have made a pretty birthday card today and felt is was apt for both my Aunt in Australia and my friend, Jan.

???????????????????????????????

I used the following materials:

  • A4 white Trucard 300gsm (coated on 1 side)
  • A4 white paper 120gsm (by Navigator & available at Costco in the UK – not sure about USA)
  • Digital Scrapbooking kit “Indian Summer” by Gennifer Bursett.  This kit contains beautiful painted flower designs.
  • Digital label by Ellie Lash from her kit “My Favorite Things”
  • “Happy Birthday” sentiment wordart by SasDesigns from her kit “Perfect Party”
  • My trusty Epson R1900 printer

Before I started making the card, I had to re-colour the wordart so the colours complimented the roses in the digital paper and as the “T” in Birthday was exactly the same colour as the label it didn’t show.  I did this using Photoshop Elements.  I also added a pink shadow to the wordart which helped the “T” stand out more.  I also added a shadow to some lace trim in the “Indian Summer” kit to make it look more realistic when added to the front of the card.

With all the re-colouring and shadowing done, I assembled the card (a 14.85mm square) in MS Publisher by dragging the paper onto the white canvas and aligning it to the top corner.  This has to be resized by clicking and dragging on the bottom left corner and if you do this at 100% zoom it makes it easy to size to 14.85mm.  It’s also useful to have it set up to “Snap to Guides” in the Arrange section.

Screenshot

At this stage I cut out the card along the edge of the design, which then leaves the greeting on a seperate piece of card.  This is handy if you want to add glitter glue or Glossy Accents, etc.  Wait for any of these products to dry before trimming the greeting.  It’s then a case of just cutting it out and adhering to the base with dimensional foam squares.

The inside of a card is just as important and I always use a thick (at least 100gsm) paper to print my greeting.  I use the line tool to indicate where the fold of the card and the bottom cut-line will be, which makes the placement of the greeting easy.  Here’s another screenshot:

Screenshot inside

The line tool where the fold will be is shown above, but I also add another at 14.85 horizontally if making a square card just to make sure the greeting is placed correctly.

I am really pleased with the end result… quite a quick card for me!

???????????????????????????????Please contact me if you would like any tips/help in making a similar card.  I’ll be only too pleased to help.

Leave a Reply

