Where has the time gone?

I can’t believe it’s nearly 2 years since I last posted!  So much has happened.

My dear Uncle Bill in Australia (who I made the Get Well card for) passed away last April but my Mum and I were lucky enough to visit him in January and spent precious time with him.

I haven’t made any cards in this time – just lost my mojo.

Today’s my dear Mummy’s birthday and I just had to make her a card.  Here it is:

Outside:

DSC_0050[1]

Inside:

DSC_0051[1]

I created this card using the following products:

  • “Spring Blush” digital scrapbooking kit from JoCee Designs
  • Yellow paper from “Color Me Happy” digital scrapbooking kit also from JoCee Designs
  • Ribbon from my stash
  • Glittered the edge of the yellow with an orange Sakura gelly roll pen
  • Used my Brother Scan N Cut to cut out the bird and butterfly elements on the front of the card.
  • 300gsm smooth white card by Papermania
  • 120gsm white paper by Navigator
  • Sakura Gelly Roll pen – orange
  • Epson XP960 inkjet printer
  • MS Publisher
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements 13

I started by opening a new document in MS Publisher

  • orientation: A4 landscape
  • margins:none
  • – added a vertical ruler guide to show where the fold in the card would be.  As I was using A4 sized card, the centre fold was at 14.85cm.

I dragged the birds & birdhouse paper from “Color Me Happy” onto the document and sized it, then cropped it to fit on what would be the front of the card – to the right of the ruler guide.  I then printed this on A4 300gsm smooth white card and set aside for later.

Using Photoshop Elements 13, I opened the banner with flower cluster, then added the text “It’s your birthday!”.  I use PSE as I’m able to manipulate elements easier – it has far more options for this kind of thing than MS Publisher.  I selected the text tool and then typed in the greeting, then clicked on the “warp text” button text.png selected the “flag” option and manipulated the text until it was the correct shape for the banner .  I then saved the banner as a .png (portable network graphics file).  I find it useful to create a new file on my computer desktop to save any elements to for the current card I’m working on.

Next, I opened a new document in MS Publisher and dragged the banner (with text that I’d just created), the orange paper, yellow paper, bird and butterfly elements onto the document.  I cropped the yellow and orange paper to the size I wanted (the yellow will be matted onto the orange when I finally put it all together).  I then inserted a text box and typed ” a little birdie told me” using a font called “Always In My Heart” in the centre of the yellow card and dragged the banner underneath and played with the positioning until I was happy.  I also sized the bird and butterfly to the required size.  I then printed these off on A4 300gsm smooth white card.

I would just like to point out that there are many free fonts available on the internet from sites such as “DaFont”, “FontSpace”, etc.  “Always in My Heart” is available free on both these sites.

As I’m lucky enough to have a Brother Scan N Cut, I cut out all 4 pieces.  I then used a Sakura Gelly Roll pen in orange to glitter the cut edges of the yellow card.  I matted the yellow onto the orange card with double sided adhesive finger-lift tape and added the bird and butterfly using the same.

Going back to my card front, I adhered the ribbon using extra strong pink double sided tape.  Then using adhesive foam squares to add dimension, I added this to the front of my card over the ribbon.

I always create an insert for my cards and I did this by opening another page in MS Publisher – again landscape A4, no margins and dragged the flower cluster element into position and added the text, changing the colour so it matched the flowers in the cluster.  Finally, I stuck the insert into the card with double-sided adhesive finger-lift tape.

I am so pleased with the result and I’m sure my Mum will be delighted!  JoCee’s designs are so “clean” – I just love them – and they helped get my mojo back!

I think I’ve included everything you need to know, but if there’s anything you’d like to ask me about creating a card digitally, please contact me.

https://cdncache-a.akamaihd.net/store/

Leave a Reply

