Mother’s Day in the UK

I don’t know the reason why, but the date of Mother’s Day here in the UK does not follow the rest of the world. This year Mother’s Day was yesterday – 14 March 2021.

My lovely mummy is now 87 years old and delights in the cards I make her (and for everyone else too)! I always seem to be strapped for time so thought I’d cheat a little and buy a digital .svg file from Dreaming Tree as I thought it would be a quicker way of making the card… how wrong was I! Even so, I really enjoyed making this card.

It is an accordion card but a little bit different from traditionally folded accordion cards. This one actually lifts from it’s base to reveal the greeting.

Materials:

  • DCWV Wildflower printed 12″ x 12″ double-sided cardstock pad. I chose the multi coloured roses with a green reverse. I tried to match the colours of the pearlescent card to the colours of the roses as closely as possible from my stash.
  • Peach pearlescent card for the flowers
  • Cerise pearlescent card for large flower on top of card, for the greeting toppers and a layer of the base
  • Purple textured pearlescent card for the base and flower centres
  • Peach satin ribbon for the finger loop at the top of the card and for the box envelope
  • Yellow card a square for the greeting under the base and for the box envelope (American Crafts Smooth Cardstock Pad “The Color of Memories”)
  • Chalk “cats-eye” inks in Warm Violet, Dark Peony and Aquamarine
  • Sakura GellyRoll pen #724 Purple
  • Double-sided self adhesive tape or tacky glue.

Here are all the elements prior to assembly:

I inked the edges of all the peach flower lightly with Warm Violet chalk ink; the edges of the cerise elements with Dark Peony, and the green elements with Aquamarine then began assembling. There is a comprehensive video tutorial on the Dreaming Tree website to help you along. You can watch it on the website or via YouTube.

If I were to do anything differently, I would not use tacky glue or wet glue of any kind as when mine dried it warped the card even though I used the glue very sparingly.

As you may be aware, I use both Photoshop Elements 13 and MS Publisher when creating any wordart. I created “Happy Mother’s Day” in Photoshop Elements in a dark purple colour, then opened the “caption tags” .png file on another tab. I then deleted the “Happy Birthday” greeting, sized and placed 4 x “Happy Mother’s Day” wordarts so they were positioned correctly on the tags. Once I had gotten the position right, I deleted the tags .png, which left just 4 “Happy Mother’s Day”s with no background. I then saved this as a .png file. I was then able to open this .png in MS Publisher and printed this on cerise pearlescent card safe in the knowledge they were in the correct position to be cut out accurately on my Brother Scan’n’Cut SDX1200.

Here is the card in it’s “resting” position. It actually compresses down further to fit in the box envelope which is also included in the cut files.

As always, please do not hesitate to contact me if you would like any clarification of my information above.

Leave a comment